Leaderboard Ads


Congratulations La Liga Title Winners – Atletico Madrid

Atletico Madrid went to a loud, hostile, and difficult away venue of Camp Nou, home ground of Barcelona, and came away as La Liga Champions. In their last game, they were unable to put away Malaga to secure the title, and so it came down to their final game of the season. If Barca won, then they would win the league because of their superior goal differential.  Atletico needed a win or tie to take the club’s 10th title, and break the hold Real Madrid and Barcelona have had at the top since 2004.  It’s been 18 years since Atletico won their last one.

Atletico went down 1-0 in the first half when Barca’s Alexis Sanchez buried the ball in the back of the neck.  Diego Godin leveled for them in the second, but they still needed to weather 40+ minutes. They did that to end a dream season on top. Atletico has one additional trophy to play for, and that is the Champions League; final against Real Madrid on May 24th.  Unfortunately for Atletico, they lost two very talented players to injury in this game; Diego Costa and Arda Turan.  Time will tell how serious the injuries are, and whether it will affect their ability to play in the Champions League final, and for Costa, in the World Cup.

A dream season for Atletico Madrid with one more chapter to play.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: